Tourism In San Nicolas de los Arroyos
has been the main plaza since 1748 and was donated by the very same
founder of the city, Rafael de Aguiar. The provincial Constitution was
sworn here in 1854 and it is where all important celebrations are
Plaza 14 de Abril
plaza stands opposite the cemetery and owes its name to the date when
the city was founded. It used to be a municipal nursery, arable land for
alfalfa and military training ground for the Pontoneros Battallion from
the 1920s until 1937. It was remodeled in the year 1998.
Plaza is located opposite the Tourism Offices. It keeps amongst other
objects, a harp donated by the Bolivarian Association 8 December 1999
and an image of the Caacupe Virgin which is revered by Paraguayan
Cathedral was born in 1748 together with the founding of the city. It
burned down in 1852 and three years later, the foundations for the
current building were laid. It was declared a cathedral in 1942. The
Bishop House stands next to it.
del Rosario de San Nicolas Sanctuary
sactuary is situated on Sarmiento Street and very close to the cliff
facing the Parana River and is an integral part of the view the city
offers against the sky of the so-called city of the Virgin Mary. It
attracts over 400,000 faithful every September 25 as well as pilgrims
from all over the rest of the year taking the annual number to over
opened in 1979 made totally of steel with wonderful glass Works which
give it a special touch. It is located in the Somisa residential area
and built with the shape of a cross.
Perpetuo Socorro Church
church is located in La Emilia opposite the main plaza and preserves
very old images amongst these a painting of Merciful Jesus recently
brought here from Poland which is the image that appeared in front of
remains of Jose Francisco Benitez whose initiative brought the Salesian
Order to San Nicolas are buried here and there is an image of Maria
Auxiliadora sent by San Juan Bosco at the beginning of the 20th
Location: Don Bosco and Benitez Streets.