It was the first colonial suburb of Buenos Aires. In addition, it was the most distinguished neighbourhood, until 1871, when the yellow fever scared the Buenos Aires elites away from their residences. As it sprang up around the primitive port, San Telmo was soon invaded by the wave of immigrants in the 19th Century, which began to dramatically change the appearance of its streets. The great mansions of the most affluent classes became "conventillos" places where many families lived together after having taken over from their original owners. These immigrants, mostly devoted to crafts and trades, started to leave their imprint and impose their customs on the scene, which has since been characterized by street fairs. It was after 1970 that San Telmo began to be appreciated; the old buildings were refurbished, and many buildings over 100 years old, were declared part of the historical heritage of the city.
-Secretary of Agriculture, breeding and fishing. Paseo Colón 922
It is a group of neo-Gothic buildings located on a main road and which present all the majesty typical of public buildings of the late 19th and early 20th Centuries.
- Engineering University. Paseo Colón 850
It is a neoclassical style building that replicates that of the Faculty of Law. It used to be the headquarters of the Ex-foundation Maria Eva Duarte de Perón.
- Monument “Canto al trabajo”. Paseo Colón 800
It is a piece of work from the sculptor Roberto de Yrurtia (1879-1950) and is considered one of the most outstanding bronze sculptures in Argentina. It is located on the "Plazoleta Colonel Manuel de Olazábal” where it was unveiled in 1907.
There are 14 bronze figures together, which appear to be dragging a gigantic rock; the allegory is that of the liberating significance and effort involved in work as well as the dignifying role of women in the struggle of life.
- Passage San
It is a typical passage of the neighbourhood. The gallery "Los Patios de San Telmo", in a seventeenth century mansion hosts artists and artisans workshops.
- The minimal House San Lorenzo 380
It is the remaining part of a construction dating from the 2nd decade of the 19th Century. The facade has a width of 2.2 meters. In the past, it was common practice to build this additional part to the houses, and it was usually occupied by the slaves of the family.