Location: 1892, Junin St. Recoleta
It is considered to be one of the most beautiful works of Buenos Aires Colonial architecture. It is a second oldest temple in the city and of the few that keeps all its altarpieces, imagery, ornaments, a series of historical pictures and elements of worship from the time. It owes its name to the patron saint of the city of Zaragoza in Spain. A very rich trader, Juan de Narbona was born there and was authorized in 1716 by Royal Decree to build on this land. The first chapel was started in 1732, as the temple of the Convent of the Franciscan Recollects, by Italian Jesuit architect Andrés Bianchi and it was completed by Juan Bautista Premoli.
The order of the Recollections (Recoletos) was expelled in 1821 by Governor Martin Rodriguez and his Home Minister Bernardino Rivadavia and their property expropriated.
In 1834 the convent was assigned to be a mendicant’s home and then and old people’s home.
Pope Pio XI declares it a Basilica in 1936. May 21 1942 it was declared National Historical Monument.
Next to the church there is a small museum.