Italian architect Pedro Petrocchi started building of the church 15 April 1873 and put the finishing touches in 1878. The parish House was built on 9 de Julio Street with an Andalusian Patio inside, and years later became the San Miguel College.
During 1921 the church was repaired and so was the cross which had suffered a fall was repaired by Francisco Calles in his workshop. The stained glass works were made by Carlos Pallarols and Carlos Ruiz Santana. New, important repairs were begun in 1999 and still in progress.