It opened to the public in 1888; The founder and first director was the Perito Francisco Pascacio Moreno who donated all his private collections. The building is Neo-Classic style and the ornamentation pre-columbine. There are over three million objects in the different collections amongst them Great Mammals, fossils from the Tertiary and Quaternary periods and huge archeological and ethnographic collections. It has 21 permanent exhibition halls for objects, fauna, flora and cultures of, mainly, South America.
Address: Paseo del Bosque.
Opening Hours: from Tuesdays to Sundays from 10.00 Hs to 18.00 Hs.