Location: 1355, Antartida Argentina Av. Retiro (Immigrants Ex Hotel)
In 1997, the Interior Ministry created the Program “Inmigrants Complex Museum” which is managed by the Direccion Nacional de Migraciones, (the Immigration Directorship). The chosen headquarters was the Lodge House of the Old Hotel of Immigrants, which served as hotel from 1911 to 1953.
It aims to recognize the value of the historical, cultural, political, social and economical importance of the Hotel of Immigrants buildings as well as the immigration phenomenon in Argentina.
It is a lovely building with a sober front and simple ornaments, made of reinforced concrete, one of the first buildings made with such materials in the city.
The result was large halls which house thousands of people very comfortably.
It is situated close to the river, a rectangle 100 mts. long by 26 mts. wide with a great interior road, formed by a double row of columns where all spaces converge except for the centre so as to allow space for the large dining room in the ground floor and meeting and entertainment halls in the upper floors. There are four large marble staircases at both ends of the interior leading up to all levels of the building.
The kitchen and complementary services have their premises on the ground floor. There are four dormitories in each floor that can shelter up to two hundred and fifty people each. A double row of windows allows for the ventilation and illumination of interior spaces. The care and maintenance of the building is done by Government commissions in charge of Historical National Monuments.
The museum also has a library specializing in migration, a historical archive and a program of guided tours.