Location: 65 Bolivar St. Montserrat
The Cabildo of Buenos Aires was the city council or municipal corporation of the city of Buenos Aires that ran from the foundation of the city in 1580 until its abolition in 1821. Today the expression Cabildo of Buenos Aires is used to refer to the building that housed the city council, which, with changes in its structure, is now the National Historical Museum of the Cabildo and the May Revolution.
The present building dates from 1940 when it was refurbished in a colonial style by Mario Buschiazzo, but the original one was erected in 1610. It was only between 1725 and 1786 that a two-storey building with balcony and tower was constructed, including a chapter hall, a chapel, offices for judges and public notaries as well as cells for prisoners.
The bigger changes came between 1880 and 1889 due to urban reforms.
The Cabildo was declared National Historical Monument by law 11688, May 30 1933 and destined to become Historical Museum.
Important ceremonies and changes of guards take place here organized by the National Historical Museum usually attended by National, Provincial and Municipal authorities. It is the President of the Republic who authorizes the changes of guard as Commander in Chief.
There is a change of guard at the gate every sixty minutes on days open to the public.
Guided Tours: Fridays 15.30hs. – Free of charge. Saturdays and Sundays 12,30hs. ($ 3), 14,00hs. (Free of charge) and 15,00hs. ($3).
Information and visits, requests at email@example.com