Location: 340, Humberto1º St. San Telmo
During the 17th & 18th Centuries, Buenos Aires begun to expand and populate this Southern neighbourhood which was to become known as St. Peter’s Heights due to its more elevated terrain. Also known as the “Port Neighbourhood”, it witnessed in 1600 the rise of the cult to San Pedro Gonzalez Telmo known then as patron of the old St. Dominic Convent situated in the block surrounded by Peru, Mexico, Bolivar and Chile Streets.
The Jesuits decided to found a church here in 1734 but got Royal Authorization only in 1748 when building started, according a project of the Jesuit architect Andrea Bianchi (the same who planned the Cabildo), on the plot donated by Don Ignacio Bustillo y Zeballos. When the Jesuits were expelled in 1767 work had not yet been completed. Also, a House for Spiritual Exercises for Men was built next to the church.
The Bethlemite monks took over in 1785, made their hospital in the annex which was later to be used as a jail.
The church was finished in 1876.
The neighbourhood underwent a deep transformation alter the yellow fever epidemic in 1871 and most of the well-off families departed, looking for better climatic and sanitary conditions elsewhere.
The last remodeling took place in 1918. On the front, there is the image of the patron saint of the seamen, whose relics are stored in the temple, brought from the cathedral of Tuy, in Spain. In its interior there should be highlighted the pulpit commissioned by Manuel Belgrano in 1805, the tubular symphonic organ, old statues and oil paintings from the eighteenth century.