Location: Pedro de Mendoza Av. with Del Valle Iberlucea St. La Boca
The name comes from the curve that the “Riachuelo “ ( meaning small river ) takes when receiving the waters of the Matanza river, its river of origin, and from the businessman and estate owner Antonio Rocha in 1936. It was formerly known as “Vuelta de los Tachos“, because fodder containers used to be deposited there.
The place was used by Admiral Guillermo Brown, founder of the Argentine Navy to establish his arsenal yard during the war with Brazil. It was declared Historical Place in 1948.
There is a small square here called “de los suspiros“ ( sighs ) where Italian immigrants from Genoa World meet and talk with nostalgia of their far away fatherland. There is a bust of Guillermo Brown here made by Julio Vegotini and also a cannon from the Admiral’s 25 de Mayo Frigate. A market takes place here every weekend.